Introduction

The standard academic introduction includes markers that identify who one is and what they do. For an academic, one’s identity often stems from an ambiguous relationship between one’s words and one’s institution–a relationship that is becoming increasingly fraught in the current climate of academia.

Right now, I have both: words and an institution. But because I’m a doctoral candidate, my time is counted. After which, I may not have an institution. I may not even have a job in academia. I do not know the future. But I don’t want to let the uncertainties of the future contribute to shaping my academic identity, and I’m intrigued by the possibilities of social network media to also be a place for scholars to develop a kind of community that was once exclusive to universities.

For the standard academic introduction you can read About and even find me on academia.edu. For the rest, I’m in scholar in progress. Aren’t we all?

Leave a Reply

